“Information architecture”* for course

“Information architecture”* for course

The following is an overview of how & where I am recording information for the Context and Narrative course.

Sketchbook

Physical

I have a small book that I take with me when I am away from home and use this for recording notes and thoughts.

Electronic

I have an electronic notebook to which I will transfer notes from my book (scan/copy) and where I can also record unstructured thoughts.

Blog

The online Learning Log section (WordPress) is uses to store semi-structured information. It is based on the course structure and I use this to record the course exercises and general learning I acquire during the course.

Assignments

The Assignment section (WordPress) is used to record the course assignments.

Leaning log

Literature and Exhibitions

This section of the site is used to summarise information and insights gain from literature and exhibitions.

Research

This section is used to record in a structured way references I find interesting and also to record general purpose notes (such as this one)

Thoughts

This section is where I record unstructured (or semi structured) thoughts

Supporting tools

I use the following tools to support:

  • WordPress for on-line blog
  • Lightroom, Photoshop for storing and editing photographs
  • OneNote as electronic sketchbook
  • Mindmaple for Mind mapping
  • Powerpoint for some image formatting
  • Word for text support

* Information architecture is a IT technical term describing the structure of information. I could not resist using as a reminder of my previous working life.

3 thoughts on ““Information architecture”* for course

  1. Pingback: Assignment 2: Initial ideas for topics | Open College of the Arts: A log by Peter Hungerford

  2. Pingback: Examples of notebook and mind mapping | Open College of the Arts: A log by Peter Hungerford

  3. Pingback: Thoughts: Tools and equipment | Open College of the Arts: A log by Peter Hungerford

Leave a comment